Reed’s Top 3 – Musical Tracks to Write To

(Reed’s Playlist for the day: see below!)

So this is technically an updated version of a post I made previously, but if my readers are anything like me, they don’t bother looking through the archives.

Well, for any new folks out there, I love music almost as much as (and sometimes more than) I love writing. I’m a classic rock and roll junkie, a 2000’s pop punk lover, and an inexperienced but passionate consumer of soundtracks from movies and videogames. My “playlist of the day” at the top of each post is the song running through my head when I wake up that morning, but it isn’t necessarily the song I’m writing to.

The most important thing to me in a writing playlist is that it be without lyrics. As soon as I’m hearing English lyrics, I start typing them, and it makes it harder to concentrate on what I’m writing. Of course, I also prefer to match the tone of what I’m writing to the tone of a particular track or song, but I still have three clear favorites I’d like to share with you, along with links.

NUMBER THREE: THE TWILIGHT SYMPHONY END CREDITS TRACK (find it here)

This one is a great song with which to write closing scenes, emotional scenes between characters, and epic fantasy in general. It’s uplifting, inspiring, and gives a sense of grandeur. Coming from one of my favorite video games (The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess) and perfectly remastered from game music to full symphonic glory, I promise this will set a perfect tone for your writing experience. Check it out!

NUMBER TWO: THE LIGHT OF THE SEVEN (find it here)

If you don’t watch Game of Thrones, you don’t know the disturbing and incredible scene that accompanied this song in the season 6 finale. But you can still feel the power of the piece, the eerie buildup towards something dark and sinister and cunning. This is my villain-writing song, will always be my villain-writing song, because it perfectly encapsulates what I want most of my villains to be – vicious but brilliant, manipulating situations to their ends. It gives me shivers just listening to it while writing this paragraph.

NUMBER ONE: THE JOURNEY OFFICIAL SOUNDTRACK (find it here)

This is my guaranteed piece. No matter what I’m writing, part of it always seems to fit. And since it takes me about two hours to write a full chapter, two repetitions of this hour-long soundtrack is nearly perfect for me to get everything out. It’s got incredible atmospheric content for any genre, short pieces of darkness and despair, and an end section that always feels to me like the moment when the protagonist finally concludes their character arc and bursts forth onto the page like a flower unfurling. If I can’t think of what song I want to write to, this is my go-to, and it hasn’t failed me yet. Seriously, if you like writing to music, please check this out.

If you like these suggestions, let me hear it! I’ve got a ton more, thanks to my incredible girlfriend who’s sent me about fifty pieces.

Yours, still reeling from the GoT season 6 finale,

-R.R. Buck

10 thoughts on “Reed’s Top 3 – Musical Tracks to Write To

  1. You can’t go wrong with any Zelda music. I tend to listen to any video game soundtracks, mostly Zelda or Pokemon, and also music scores such as LOTR and Harry Potter.

    Like

      1. It’s almost better when my girlfriend sends me music from movies and games I don’t know. Maybe you should hit up your sister for music you’ve never heard (if she plays any different games than you).

        Like

      2. Ah, well. Maybe just the YouTube suggestions for other cinematic/game music. If I find anything new I’ve never heard before, you’ll be the first to know 🙂

        Like

      3. Actually, my newest obsession is the Firewatch OST. Have you played it or heard it? There are some tracks which I think might be especially good ambiance to write mystery/suspense to.

        Like

Leave a Reply

