Calling All Interested Alpha Readers!

(Reed’s Playlist for the occasion: this)

Well, I started this week having finished Draft 1.5 of my writing project, ready to take a nice, relaxing couple of weeks to finish up Draft 2 – mainly just adding in descriptions or altering dialogue as I see fit.

Then I got an email from Austin Macauley, one of the small publishers I’d spoken to at the LA Times Festival of Booksasking me to submit my manuscript when ready. And there’s nothing that lights a fire under me quite like seeing a publisher’s interest (even though I’m pretty sure it was a form email sent to anyone who had given them their information).

So I did a couple of weeks of work in a couple of days.

Now, I’ve finished Draft 2.0 of my story, which I’m calling Symphony of Legend right now, and I’m looking for anyone who wants to alpha read for me. If you want a real quick pitch, think Harry Potter coming-of-age style fantasy meets a brand-new musical magic system and the darker themes of something by Brent Weeks.

If you’re interested, here’s the good news and the bad news:

Good News:

  1. It’s less than 50,000 words (about 200-250 pages) so it’s more manageable than previous projects
  2. It’s got that kind of Harry Potter charm we all know and love (I hope)
  3. It’s short and snappy – the pacing continues all the way through

Bad News:

  1. It’s the first time I’ve written anything so short, so there might be a loss of exposition and it might leave you confused
  2. It’s got some very adult content (consider this your trigger warning – I’m being totally serious)
  3. It’s still written by me, which means it needs a lot of work

If that excites and does not deter you, please reach out to me – either by email or some other form of message, and tell me what your preferred method of receiving it is. I can swing a Google Doc where you’ll be reading and editing alongside others; a Word Doc in an email (with possible likely guaranteed formatting errors); or printed out if you absolutely must have it that way. Just remember, it’s my money you’re spending on paper and the world’s trees you’re cutting down.

Because I’d like to submit to Austin Macauley ASAP, anyone who gets it done in less than two weeks (that would be a little bit more than a chapter a day) will be my new favorite person.

Thank you all so much for your support thus far, and I hope to hear from you.

Yours, doing his happy jig,

-R.R. Buck

3 thoughts on “Calling All Interested Alpha Readers!

Leave a Reply

