Thank You Everyone!

(Reed’s Playlist for the occasion: Fat Bottomed Girls by Queen, For the Longest Time by Billy Joel)

Hey all,

I don’t have a lot of time to write this morning, so I just wanted to take the opportunity to thank all my followers, both friends/family and those who know me only through this blog. I’ve received so many positive responses and reactions from people about the blog, and it’s given me the willpower to continue writing as often as I can.

I started out on WordPress without a real idea of what I wanted to do. Some part of me thought, everyone has a gimmick and every gimmick has been done; another part of me thought, no one wants to hear what I have to say about writing when I haven’t even been published myself.

I try to find those thoughts when they’re still little sprouts and tear them up. So I thought to myself, what do I have that no one else – or few other people – have? I considered the idea that, as a beginning writer with absolutely no social filter, I could try to write openly and honestly about what it’s like getting started – hence the “Journey Into Writing” and not something more patronizing. I want to figure things out on here, on an open forum where I can share my discoveries and pitfalls with those who are still struggling like me.

Whoa, when did this become about me? Let’s just get back to the thank-yous.

Among everyone who’s supported me, I want to pick out a few wonderful souls who’ve really given me that extra confidence. First, Lindsay, my girlfriend, who always gets more excited about my posts and writing projects than I do. Also her sister Emma, who reads this blog often enough to bring it up most times we see each other. Rachel Poli, who’s been virtually the only one commenting on my posts and who helped me to understand how to craft a great blog (you should check out hers here). Finally, my brother to whom I’ve given the alias Ram, who has been one of my hardest critics but also one of the most supportive – the one who got me the MasterClass as a gift and continues to suggest resources for me as a new writer.

You all have done so much for me, and I can’t begin to thank you for that. This blog is doing more than just allowing me a venue to work through my thoughts – it’s helping me understand who I want to become as a person. And everyone who’s even read one post has been a part of that.

Thank you all so much.

Yours, gratefully,

-R.R. Buck

One thought on “Thank You Everyone!

Leave a Reply

